• Cinq balles mortelles. Un acte effroyable. Plusieurs vérités.
    Un thriller qu'on ne lâche pas sur les affres de la religion, les non-dits et les ravages causés par les préjugés.
    Cinq balles mortelles. Un acte effroyable. Plusieurs vérités.

    À Riversend, une petite ville de l'Australie rurale terrassée par la sécheresse, un jeune pasteur charismatique et dévoué ouvre le feu sur ses paroissiens. Il tue cinq d'entre eux avant d'être abattu à son tour. Un an plus tard, Martin Scarsden arrive à Riversend, chargé d'écrire un article sur l'état d'esprit de ses derniers habitants à l'approche du premier anniversaire de l'horrible tragédie. Pour quelle raison le pasteur a-t-il eu cet accès de folie meurtrière ? Quel est le lien avec l'assassinat de deux touristes allemandes retrouvées au fond d'un réservoir des Brousses - une vaste zone de terres incultivables située au nord de la ville ?
    Poursuivi par ses propres démons d'ancien correspondant de guerre, Martin se retrouve malgré lui mêlé à une enquête et une tempête médiatique sans précédent.

  • SILVER

    Chris Hammer

    AN ENTHRALLING AND PROPULSIVE NEW THRILLER FROM THE ACCLAIMED AND BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF SCRUBLANDS 'Compelling, original and brilliantly executed - an excellent thriller from a new master of Australian noir' CHARLES CUMMING 'Dark, twisty and atmospheric, with writing so real you can almost feel the blistering heat of the Australian summer' LISA HALL . A HOMECOMING MARRED BY BLOOD Journalist Martin Scarsden returns to Port Silver to make a fresh start with his partner Mandy. But he arrives to find his childhood friend murdered - and Mandy is the prime suspect. Desperate to clear her name, Martin goes searching for the truth. A TERRIBLE CRIME The media descends on Port Silver, compelled by a story that has it all: sex, drugs, celebrity, and religion. Martin is chasing the biggest scoop of his career, and the most personal. A PAST HE CAN'T ESCAPE As Martin draws closer to a killer, the secrets of his traumatic childhood come to the surface, and he must decide what is more important - the story or his family... . Praise for SCRUBLANDS: ' Shimmers . . . A tortured tale of blood and loss' VAL MCDERMID 'Stunning . . . That rare combination, a page-turner that stays long in the memory' SUNDAY TIMES (CRIME BOOK OF THE MONTH) 'An almost perfect crime novel ... Intelligent, thought-provoking, great narrative energy' ANN CLEEVES

  • SCRUBLANDS

    Chris Hammer

    • Wildfire
    • 11 Juillet 2019

    A powerful, compelling, vividly written Australian crime novel that will be perfect for fans of Peter May and Jane Harper. A dead river. A dying town. A killer's secrets... In an isolated country town ravaged by drought, a charismatic young priest opens fire on his congregation, killing five men before being shot dead himself. A year later, journalist Martin Scarsden arrives in Riversend to write a feature on the anniversary of the tragedy. But the stories he hears from the locals don't fit with the accepted version of events. Just as Martin believes he is making headway, a shocking discovery rocks the town. The bodies of two backpackers - missing since the time of the massacre - are found in the scrublands. The media descends on Riversend and Martin is the one in the spotlight. Wrestling with his own demons, Martin finds himself risking everything to uncover a truth that becomes more complex with every twist. But there are powerful forces determined to stop him, and he has no idea how far they will go to make sure the town's secrets stay buried.

  • TRUST Nouv.

    TRUST

    Chris Hammer

    The stunning new novel from the No.1 international bestselling author of Scrublands and ''master of Australian noir'' Chris Hammer. On a bright sunny day in Port Silver, ex-journalist Martin Scarsden misses a call from his girlfriend Mandy. Checking his voicemail later, all he hears is her terrified scream before the phone cuts off. Back at the house, he finds a policeman unconscious on the floor, and Mandy gone. So starts a twisting tale of intrigue and danger, as Martin probes the past of the woman he loves, a woman who has buried her former life deep. And for the first time, Mandy finds denial impossible, now the body of a man has been discovered - a man to whom she was engaged to marry. It''s time to face her demons once and for all; it''s time she learned how to trust. Set in a Sydney riven with corruption and nepotism, privilege and power, TRUST is the third riveting novel from award-winning and internationally acclaimed writer Chris Hammer. Praise for Chris Hammer: ''The best Australian crime novel for years'' The Times ''Hammer is a great writer - a leader in Australian noir'' Michael Connelly ''Stunning - a page-turner which stays long in the memory'' Sunday Times ''Intelligent, thought-provoking - an almost-perfect crime novel'' Ann Cleeves

empty