Pan Books

  • NOTHING VENTURED

    Jeffrey Archer

    • Pan books ltd
    • 5 Septembre 2019

    B>Nothing Ventured is the incredible and thrilling novel by the master storyteller and bestselling author of the Clifton Chronicles and Kane and Abel, Jeffrey Archer./b>b>This is not a detective story, this is a story about a detective/b>William Warwick has always wanted to be a detective, and decides, much to his father's dismay, that rather than become a barrister like his father, Sir Julian Warwick QC, and his sister Grace, he will join London's Metropolitan Police Force.After graduating from university, William begins a career that will define his life: from his early months on the beat under the watchful eye of his first mentor, Constable Fred Yates, to his first high-stakes case as a fledgling detective in Scotland Yard's Art and Antiques squad. Investigating the theft of a priceless Rembrandt painting from the Fitzmolean Museum, he meets Beth Rainsford, a research assistant at the gallery who he falls hopelessly in love with, even as Beth guards a secret of her own that she's terrified will come to light.While William follows the trail of the missing masterpiece, he comes up against suave art collector Miles Faulkner and his brilliant lawyer, Booth Watson QC, who are willing to bend the law to breaking point to stay one step ahead of William. Meanwhile, Miles Faulkner's wife, Christina, befriends William, but whose side is she really on?Nothing Ventured heralds the start of a brand new series in the style of Jeffrey Archer's number one Sunday Times bestselling The Clifton Chronicles: telling the story of the life of William Warwick - as a family man and a detective who will battle throughout his career against a powerful criminal nemesis. Through twists, triumph and tragedy, this series will show that William Warwick is destined to become one of Jeffrey Archer's most enduring legacies.

  • Anglais Dominion

    C. J. Sansom

    • Pan books ltd
    • 15 Octobre 2012

    Et si Winston Churchill avait été écarté du pouvoir en 1940 ? Et si les nazis avaient alors conquis l'Angleterre ? Entre roman d'espionnage, polar historique et politique-fiction, une oeuvre magistrale où l'auteur imagine le sort d'une Europe qui aurait pactisé avec le diable. Acclamé outre-Manche, un roman captivant, aux troublantes résonances contemporaines.

    Hiver 1952. Douze ans que l'Angleterre s'est rangée du côté de Hitler après la prise de Dunkerque. Douze ans que le pays a perdu son indépendance pour devenir un dominion, un satellite de l'axe nazi. Douze ans que les services de la Résistance attendent un signe de Winston Churchill pour embraser le pays.
    Parmi eux, David Fitzgerald, fonctionnaire d'origine juive, se voit confier une mission des plus périlleuses : protéger un scientifique porteur d'un secret classé défense. Un secret capable de renverser l'équilibre du monde et que la Gestapo est bien décidée à récupérer avant lui.
    Aidé de la mystérieuse Natalia, artiste réfugiée d'Europe de l'Est, et de Ben, fougueux Écossais communiste, David va devoir prendre tous les risques pour tenter d'échapper aux sbires de l'officier Gunther Hoth. Mais est-il encore temps de changer le cours de l'Histoire ?

  • SPY

    Danielle Steel

    • Pan books ltd
    • 15 Novembre 2019

    It is 1939 and although she doesn''t know it, it will be the last normal summer Alexandra Wickham will spend for more than thirty years. Alexandra is a young woman who sees her brothers fight and die for their country, and, inspired by their heroism, she is determined to do what she can for the war effort. As a volunteer for the First Aid Corps, her courage, intelligence and talent for languages do not go unnoticed. Before long, she is approached by MI6 to go undercover and work as a spy. Undertaking some of the most dangerous missions of the war in France, she falls in love with a young soldier, who leaves the army behind for the relative security of the diplomatic corps. They marry, but her identity is a secret, even to her husband. Over the next thirty years - as she raises a family - Alexandra continues to work undercover in some of the most dangerous trouble spots in the world under the perfect guise of a diplomat''s wife. From India to Hong Kong, Morocco to Moscow, she puts her life on the line serving her country, whilst never receiving recognition. Spy by Danielle Steel is the page-turning story of a fearless young woman risking everything for what she believes in.

  • ''We are on the front line but we are not on the front page.'' Vanessa Nakate When it comes to speaking or writing about climate change, voices and stories of people of colour and from the Global South are often omitted, even though these communities often contribute the least to the problem and suffer its consequences the most. Vanessa shows that without addressing this important gap, without highlighting the real and immediate danger communities like hers and so many others face, we have no hope of making progress in the race to save our planet. Vanessa, just twenty-four years of age, is an exceptional person who has seen the effects of climate change play out first hand. As a shy girl growing up in Kampala, she began to notice that the huge climate problems the African continent was facing were being completely ignored on the global stage; problems like the destruction of the Congo rainforest, sharply rising temperatures and subsequent droughts which leave the agricultural sector incredibly vulnerable. Witnessing the suffering caused by global warming propelled Vanessa into action and despite risks to her personal safety she became the first climate striker in Uganda. In A Bigger Picture she traces the links between climate crisis and anti-racism, feminism, education, economics and even extremist radicalization, as well as telling the inspiring personal story of how she found her voice and shows readers that no matter your age, location or skin colour, you can be an effective activist.

  • Wendy Wood is the world's foremost expert in the field, and this book is essential' - Angela Duckworth, bestselling author of Gritb>What if you could harness the extraordinary power of your unconscious mind, which already determines so much of what you do, to achieve your goals?/b> Shockingly, we spend nearly half our day repeating things we've done in the past without thinking about them. How we respond to the people around us; the way we conduct ourselves in meetings; what we buy; when and how we exercise, eat and drink - a truly remarkable number of things we do every day, we do by habit.And yet, whenever we want to change something about ourselves, we rely on willpower alone. We hope that our determination and intention will be enough to effect positive change. And that is why almost all of us fail.Professor Wendy Wood is the world's foremost expert on habits. By drawing on three decades of original research, she explains the fascinating science of how we form habits and provides the key to unlocking our habitual mind in order to make the changes we seek.Combining a potent mix of neuroscience, case studies and experiments conducted in her lab, Good Habits, Bad Habits is a comprehensive, accessible and highly practical book that will change the way you think about almost every aspect of your life.

  • THE MAN WHO DIDN''T CALL

    Rosie Walsh

    • Pan books ltd
    • 15 Juillet 2019

    B>* OVER A MILLION COPIES SOLD WORLDWIDE */b>b>______________/b>br>b>/b>br>b>'I absolutely loved this book and didn't want it to end' Liane Moriarty, author of Big Little Lies and Nine Perfect Strangers/b>br>b>/b>br>b>The Man Who Didn't Call by Rosie Walsh is the perfect novel for anyone who's ever waited for a phone call that didn't come. /b>Imagine you meet a man, spend seven glorious days together, and fall in love. And it's mutual: you've never been so certain of anything. So when he leaves for a long-booked holiday and promises to call from the airport, you have no cause to doubt him.But he doesn't call. Your friends tell you to forget him, but you know they're wrong: something must have happened; there must be a reason for his silence.What do you do when you finally discover you're right? That there is a reason - and that reason is the one thing you didn't share with each other? The truth.b>For fans of Jojo Moyes and Liane Moriarty, this is the love story of the year . . ./b>

  • THE BATTLE FOR THE FALKLANDS

    ,

    • Pan books
    • 31 Mars 2022

    The Battle for the Falklands is a thoughtful and informed analysis of an astonishing chapter in modern British history from journalist and military historian Sir Max Hastings and political editor Simon Jenkins. Ten weeks. 28,000 soldiers. 8,000 miles from home. The Falklands War in 1982 was one of the strangest in British history. At the time, many Britons saw it as a tragic absurdity - thousands of men sent overseas for a tiny relic of empire - but the British victory over the Argentinians not only confirmed the quality of British arms but also boosted the political fortunes of Thatcher''s Conservative government. However, it left a chequered aftermath and was later overshadowed by the two Gulf wars. Max Hastings'' and Simon Jenkins'' account of the conflict is a modern classic of war reportage and the definitive book on the conflict.

  • BUSY RAILWAY - BUSY BOOKS

    Jo Byatt

    • Pan books ltd
    • 24 Janvier 2019

    With lots to see in Busy Railway , young children can have fun as they hop aboard a train, pulling and turning the tabs! Enjoy watching the steam puff out of an engine, going through a crossing and chugging along the tracks. Little ones will love playing with this bright and colourful board book with gentle rhyming text and wonderful illustrations by Jo Byatt. Discover more things that go in the tactile Busy Books series: Busy Garage, Busy Airport, and Busy Cars .

  • DAILY TELEGRAPH BOOK OF LARGE PRINT QUICK CROSSWORDS

    Collectif

    • Pan books
    • 4 Septembre 2009

    These puzzles are designed to test word power and are an ideal way to fill a spare moment. Perfect for travel and holidays, this handy series has proved enduringly popular. Now presented in a bigger format with large print and expanded crossword grids, so that the only challenge will be pitting your wits against the Telegraph ''s crossword setters! As ever, if inspiration fails, answers can be found at the back of the book.

  • CHOOSE POSSIBILITY

    Sukhinder Singh Cassidy

    • Pan books
    • 2 Septembre 2021

    Learn how to take risks, thrive and build your dream career. Each one of us dreams of possibility - in our careers and in our personal lives. But our pursuit of possibility is hamstrung by a single myth that looms large over us time and time again. The Myth of the Single Choice has led us to believe that one large choice stands between us and success, and that a single failure may topple us should we choose ''wrongly''. Influenced by this myth, we let fear trump possibility: we become paralyzed. But Sukhinder''s journey tells a different story. When people thrive, it''s because their fear of missing out on an opportunity (FOMO) overtakes their fear of failure (FOF) and compels them to take action. Better yet, they keep acting, building a fundamental risk-taking muscle that under weighs the importance of any single choice in favour of continually ''choosing''. These ''Choosers'' accumulate outsized impact and success over time, while also being more likely to make a number of ''failing'' choices along the way. In this book, she will show you how to be a Chooser, presenting strategies that increase your risk-taking abilities, lower your fear of failure and expand your own possibilities.

  • Anglais Fly away

    Kristin Hannah

    • Pan books ltd
    • 15 Octobre 2013

    How do you hold yourself together when your world has fallen apart . . .

empty