Anne Youngson

  • Rien de tel qu'un parfait inconnu pour se révéler à soi-même.

    Lorsque Tina Hopgood écrit une lettre depuis sa ferme anglaise à un homme qu'elle n'a jamais rencontré, elle ne s'attend pas à recevoir de réponse. Et quand Anders Larsen, conservateur solitaire d'un musée de Copenhague, lui renvoie une missive, il n'ose pas espérer poursuivre les échanges.
    Ils ne le savent pas encore, mais ils sont tous deux en quête de quelque chose. Anders a perdu sa femme, ses espoirs et ses rêves d'avenir. Tina se sent coincée dans son mariage. Leur correspondance s'épanouit au fur et à mesure qu'ils s'apprivoisent au travers de leurs histoires personnelles : des joies, des angoisses, toutes sortes de découvertes. Quand les lettres de Tina cessent soudainement, Anders est plongé dans le désespoir.
    Leur amitié inattendue peut-elle survivre? Un premier roman plein de grâce et de fantaisie.

  • Meet me at the museum

    Anne Youngson

    Full of grace and humanity' Sunday Times 'A beautiful and affecting novel of late love, by an extraordinary new writer' NINA STIBBE ************************************************ When Tina Hopgood writes a letter of regret to a man she has never met, she doesn't expect a reply.

    When Anders Larsen, a lonely museum curator, answers it, neither does he.

    They're both searching for something - they just don't know it yet.

    Anders has lost his wife, along with his hopes and dreams for the future. Tina is trapped in a marriage she doesn't remember choosing.

    Slowly their correspondence blossoms as they bare their souls to each other with stories of joy, anguish and discovery. But then Tina's letters suddenly cease, and Anders is thrown into despair.

    Can their unexpected friendship survive?

    A deep and luminous novel of self-discovery and second chances, MEET ME AT THE MUSEUM is a heartbreaking celebration of love, life and the surprises it throws at us. In a story that is at once urgent and tender, Anne Youngson polishes the everyday until it gleams.


    ***************************************** 'Insightful, emotionally acute and absorbing' Daily Express WHAT READERS ARE SAYING:

    'I loved this book. It was so different from anything else I have read' 'I just loved this book and read it in one sitting. There were times when I felt like underlining the sentences that resonated with me' 'I read this book one letter at a time, just to let the contents sink in. Tears came to my eyes' The Observer Promising first-time British novelists 2018: 'A novel about self-discovery and second chances

  • A hugely charming, genuinely uplifting story that shows it''s never too late for new adventures and unexpected friendship - for fans of HAROLD FRY, DEAR MRS BIRD and THE LIBRARIAN. Meet Eve , who has departed from her thirty-year career to become a Free Spirit; Sally , who has waved goodbye to her indifferent husband and two grown-up children; and Anastasia : defiantly independent narrowboat-dweller, suddenly vulnerable as she awaits a life-saving operation. Inexperienced and ill-equipped, Sally and Eve embark upon a journey through the canals of England, guided by the remote and unsympathetic Anastasia. As they glide gently - and not so gently - through the countryside, the eccentricities and challenges of canalboat life draw them inexorably together, and a tender and unforgettable story unfolds. Disarmingly truthful and narrated with a rare, surprising wit, THREE WOMEN AND A BOAT is a journey over the glorious waterways of England and into the unfathomable depths of the human heart.

empty